Coffee Talks

There is not much else I love more than a cup of good coffee and a meaningful conversation. The coffee gives me a boost of endorphin and the meaningful topics and thoughts inspire me to be better, to explore novel ideas and to feel grateful about each day I spend on Earth.

Lately, I have been learning this about myself, and have become very uncomfortable in meaningless conversations about the weather, who did what to whom just for the sake of judgment and superiority that you ‘would never’ do something like the person who is the topic of conversation. A couple of times I caught myself thinking in those types of conversations how it would be much easier for those two people to communicate with each other, than for me to listen to what that other person did or did not do, without even knowing them.

Don’t get me wrong, I think it is important to discuss events or actions of other people in our lives so that we can understand ourselves. In those situations, you end up learning more about your own convictions and ideas. However, the conversations in which the sole purpose is to diminish someone else or make fun of someone’s actions is something I do not really understand. It drains my energy and makes me feel guilty for even partaking in that type of conversation. Can anyone else relate to this feeling?

Nonetheless, the meaningless conversations I lead, make me appreciate the meaningful ones even more, so I want to share the 5 ideas or topics I love discussing with others:

  1. Coffee talks on how books, films or any form of art impacted and resonated with someone. What ideas captured their attention
  2. Coffee talks on what is it that the other person is working on improving in their life at the moment. This has often sparked inspiration and motivation within myself to try out something new
  3. Coffee talks on sharing vulnerabilities. The conversations in which we both have shared something that deeply affects us and makes us insecure or uncomfortable have been some of the most transformative of my life.
  4. Coffee talks about the concept of time. This is a topic I feel passionate about, therefore just enjoy thinking about and discussing with other people what time is, and how it flows.
  5. Coffee talks about planners and office materials. These types of conversations just downright make me happy! 🙂

To having more meaningful conversations! And coffee. Always coffee. Image result for coffee emoji


Leave a comment