So we all dream sometimes…

I’ve been thinking about how to start my blog for a while now… What should it be about? What do I want to write about? What are the subjects that interest me? And the answer appeared – Dreams, at least for now. But not my dreams I have at night (don’t worry, I won’t bother you with my dreams, except if they are really interesting). I want to talk about dreams we have, about our hopes, and wishes, striving in life and with life. What do we strive for? What do we hope for? Is there any point in having dreams and hopes in a country like Serbia?

In one of our lectures in my very ”elite” university, our dear beloved teacher talked about the future (that very scary subject for all of us who live in the 21st century). She also talked about what it means to be a good professor, and how a good teacher is the one who not only is good at teaching, but takes care of each and every one of his students, and their personal and professional growth. Then she started investigating each and every one of us about what is the thing that recommends us for our profession, and what is our long-term strategic plan. How strange of an assignment you would think? I think this is an excellent assignment, but I also think that she didn’t do it right… She buried most of our plans, and made us feel embarrassed for having that kind of strategic plans. The only ones who were supported were the one’s that corresponded with her own. I don’t think that is the best way to support you’re students. I don’t think the best way is saying that everything they do is good, but I don’t think it is bad to make mistakes, to be a bit lost (especially in today’s society). So, after asking us that questions, she talked about some events we should go and see, and did not let us ask any questions. And I think that most important thing a professor can give you is a chance to ask him questions and maybe trough his answers find you’re own answers…

If you are not prepared to be wrong you will never come up with anything original, said Ken Robins, a creativity expert. And I have to agree with him. We cannot get the answers if we don’t make a few mistakes. And it seems to me that every wrong word in today’s schools system is valued as a mistake and, if you want to be a good student, it is desirable to make as little mistakes as you can. I have to ask why? Don’t we learn trough our mistakes, or someone else’s? Why do our teachers have to only tell us about their success, and never about their struggle? Why aren’t they creative in their lectures, why aren’t we? Why are we so afraid to ask questions and to seek the answers, the key’s to fulfillment of our dreams, wishes, hopes? Why are we so afraid of the responsibilities? I’ve come to realize that, even though we are afraid, we should go for it, try and fail, and then try again, because ”everybody wants to live at the top of the mountain without realizing that true happiness lies in the way we climb the slope(Gabriel G. Marques).We often give up after the first obstacle, without realizing we have maybe come so close to getting the answer. We all strive for success, but what is success? I would like to finish this first post with the words of a woman that inspired me, Ursula le Guin. I’m sure a lot of you haven’t heard about her, but I strongly recommend to research, she’s worth you’re attention.

”Success is somebody else’s failure. Success is the American Dream we can keep dreaming, because most people in most places, including thirty million of ourselves, live wide awake in the terrible reality of poverty. No, I do not wish you success. I don’t even want to talk about it. I want to talk about failure. … What I hope for you, for all my sisters and daughters, brothers and sons, is that you will be able to live there, in the dark place (of failure). To live in the place that our rationalizing culture of success denies, calling it a place of exile, uninhabitable, foreign.” …

Leave a Reply

